Updating a dated desk

I purchased this desk used about 8 years ago and it’s super functional.  

I had been using my dining room as an office, but recent purchased a dining room table so the desk was moved to the former craft room that will now double as an office.  The desk has always looked ok, I don’t love the style, it’s a cherry wood laminate and I feel like cherry fights with quite a bit.   And when we moved the desk into the gray craft room HOLY COW does it clash.

After doing a bit of research on painting laminate furniture, I decided to give it a try.   For how to’s visit these sites:

DIY Kinda Girl

The Thrify House

Centsational Girl

I will say I did 2 coats of primer and 2 coats of paint and the Zinser Cover Stain Primer is AMAZING!  I didn’t have to sand at all.  And here it is now.

I’m so excited about how it turned out.  How awesome do the pulls look – those are the same ones they just pop against the white!

Next up I’m going to stencil the wall behind the desk.  I’m anticipating that to be a 10-15 hour project.  Wish me well.

2 thoughts on “Updating a dated desk

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Wow, Brandyn, the desk looks great in white! Nice handiwork!

Leave a Reply

