Top 10 Tuesday – Top 10 Top Ten Books On My Spring To-Be-Read list

Each Tuesday The Broke and The Bookish provide a book related Top 10 theme.

 

I love Spring – not just because the weather is nice and it’s light outside at night – but because a lot of my favorite authors release books in the Spring.   The first five books on this list are highly anticipated arrivals and the second five are books I’ve had on my list for at least a month that I’m finally going to find time to read!

  1. Stolen Prey – John Sandford (5/15/2012) – LOVE Sandford – he’s a must buy in hardback
  2. Insurgent – Veronica Roth  (5/1/2012) – I enjoyed reading Divergent more than the Hunger Games, but do think that The Hunger Games is a better overall book.  I’m hoping the second books improves on the first book.
  3. Stay Close – Harlan Coben (Today!) – It’s not a Myron book, but still one of my fav authors
  4. More Like Her – Liza Palmer (4/17/2012) – Yay!  I haven’t read a new one by Palmer in awhile and I just LOVE her main characters.
  5. The Garden of Happy Endings – Barbara O’Neal (4/17/12) – Her books always incorporate dogs and recipes into the story.  Someday I need to try the recipes (already have a dog).
  6. Just Listen – Sarah Dessen – I have this on Kindle and just haven’t read it yet.  It’s weird, I really enjoyed the first Sarah Dessen book I read a couple years ago, but never picked up another one.  I think I was afraid they would all be really similiar it would diminish how I felt about “The Truth about Forever”, but all of her books seem to come well recommended on the blogs so “Just Listen” is next.
  7. Pure – Julianna Baggott – I’ve read several reviews of this and all of them are positive.  I bought it a month ago, but haven’t been in the mood for Dystopia. 
  8. Lonesome Dove – Larry McMurtry – I have always wanted to read this and I’m trying to stretch my reading habits a little.
  9. Blink – Malcolm Gladwell – I love looking at things from different perspectives so I’ve always wanted to read one of Gladwell’s books.
  10. Saving Francesca – Melina Marchetta – I just recently read a few reviews of Marchetta’s novels and this one sounded really good.
10 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Top 10 Top Ten Books On My Spring To-Be-Read list

  1. Briana says:

    Insurgent is on my list, as well! I agree The Hunger Games are better books, or maybe better dystopians, but I liked the characters in Divergent and am excited to see how they develop. I can’t say I’m too concerned about how they’re going to save the world.

    • 2manychoices says:

      Yeah I think you just verbalized what I was trying to say about Divergent better than I did. I think I also enjoyed that there was a little less action. Action scenes can be hard to read and visualize right.

      • Briana says:

        It’s funny that every time I say I don’t care about the actual plot, people agree with me. It’s a very successful book, where no one is interested in what’s going to happen! Although I am looking forward to the explanation of the fence. I’m just worried it’s going to turn out that Chicago is the only dystopian place and they’re keeping everyone in so they don’t know any better. It seems to be common in dystopians that the action is very localized that way, and the rest of the world is relatively normal.

  2. I loved Just Listen, but then again I’ve loved every Sarah Dessen book I’ve ever read.

    I’m also excited to read Insurgent and hope that is as good as I’m hoping it will be.

    My TT/Top Ten Tuesday post is here

    Happy Reading!

    ~Danica Page
    Taking It One Page at a Time

  3. Great choices, I have Pure and really need to get to it and I really want to read Stay Close. I love Harlan Coben’s books!!
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday

    Kimberly @ Turning The Pages

    • 2manychoices says:

      YAY for another Coben reader! I don’t have any problems finding other YA readers, but the adult mystery readers don’t seem to be out on the blogs!

      I actually started Pure last night. I didn’t get very far but so far I’m enjoying it.

  4. Karis says:

    Pure was pretty awesome, but be forewarned, it starts out kind of slow. Stay with it, it’s totally worth the investment! Great list!

    Check out YA Litwit’s Top Ten Spring TBR Books and my GIVEAWAY of a SIGNED HC of Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver!

  5. Insurgent made my list as well. Loved Divergent and how could you not want to find out what happens? I liked Divergent more than The Hunger Games as well. I would rather read about Tobias then Peeta. But that might just be me.

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday

    Happy Spring Reading!
    Amanda @ Sisters Unedited

  6. Colin says:

    I would have to join the ranks of the DIVERGENT > HUNGER GAMES crowd, though I enjoyed THE HUNGER GAMES, and look forward to see if the movie does the book justice. But I’m looking forward to reading INSURGENT waaay more than CATCHING FIRE.:)

    Sarah Dessen’s books do seem to get a lot of rave reviews. I should probably read some of her stuff. Interesting list!

    • 2manychoices says:

      Insurgent is the first time I’ve had to WAIT for a sequel. I used to avoid series until all the books were out so I read all the Hunger Games in 2 days. Harry Potter took 2 weeks. As much as waiting stinks there is something kind of nice about the anticipation.

      I have a new rule on reading series. If a book ends with an actual cliffhanger, I totally write it off. If the author doesn’t trust their characters and story are interesting enough to keep me reading, then I don’t trust the author with character and plot development in subsequent books and they lose me.

Leave a Reply

