Top 10 Tuesday – Top Ten Books to read in a day

Each Tuesday The Broke and The Bookish provide a book related Top 10 theme.

  1. The Hunger Games / Catching Fire / Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins

Okay this is cheating BUT I think I read all three in a day and a half so if I had started The Hunger games early on a day off I think I could read all three in one day so I’m counting it! 

     2.    Attachments – Rainbow Rowell

Loveable characters and a quick, funny read.  How many of my Top 10 lists has this made so far?

  1. If you Lived Here You’d be Home by Now – Claire Lazebnik
  2. Water for Elephants – Sara Gruen

This book is staged beautifully at the beginning so that you know something bad is going to happen, but it’s unclear what and how so you really want to get to the end to find out.

  1. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J.K. Rowling

This one is a little longer than I would normally choose for a 1 day book, but it’s do-able and it’s also my favorite Harry Potter.  I love them all, but this one was the perfect mix of light/dark subject matter.  

  1. Divergent – Veronica Roth

Definitely not a book I could put down once I started so I had to finish in one day.

  1. Twilight – Stephanie Meyer

Say what you want about Stephanie Meyer’s writing style.  I personally think she does a great job of not letting the writing distract from the story.  I was totally engrossed while reading this book (I found plenty to be annoyed with when thinking about it later)

  1. Bad Blood – John Sandford

I had to put in one John Sandford because all of his books are 1 day reads for me.  This one was especially gripping and my favorite of his newest protagonist, Virgil Flowers (aka That Fuckin Flowers)

  1. Lola and the Boy Next Door – Stephanie Perkins

So cute!  I just wanted to keep reading about Lola and Cricket (and Lola’s dads, and even Max).  I stayed up late to finish this one.

  1. The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

Loved this book.  I read this on a Saturday so I didn’t have to chose between sleep and finishing it because stopping was not an option.

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Top Ten Books to read in a day

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Haha, Twilight was so addictive, even though later when you have time to think about it you wonder HOW it was so absorbing!

    • 2manychoices says:

      Twilight was super addictive. I refuse to be embarrassed about them. The experience of reading them is like the words just fall away and you absorb the story. Seriously when I read them the first 3 were out and I read all three and then just started over. Crazy!

  2. Colin says:

    I have read some of these, and I would agree with you about TFiOS–a great read, and totally unputdownable. I plan to read books 2 and 3 in the HUNGER GAMES series, hoping they’re as good as the first. I really enjoyed DIVERGENT too. It’s nice to see books I’ve read and liked cropping up on other’s lists–perhaps I do have taste after all! 🙂

    • 2manychoices says:

      Agreed – I love looking at everyone else’s lists to see who else likes what I like. I’m still looking for other people who liked “Lola and the Boy Next Door” better than “Anna and the French Kiss” because I’m feeling all alone on that.

      Books tastes are definitely individual (with the exception of the Hunger Games – I haven’t found anyone who read it and didn’t like it). I gave up on trying to impress people awhile ago. I just read what I like and it turns out other people like it too!

      • Elizabeth says:

        You know, I saw Lola and the Boy Next Door on as many lists as I did Anna and the French Kiss today… it made me think of you, but I visited so many blogs I couldn’t begin to tell you which they were!

      • 2manychoices says:

        Thanks! Work has been crazy this week so I only got to check a few. It’s nice to know their are others out there that are Team Lola.

Leave a Reply

