Top 10 Tuesday – Top Ten Books I’d like to see made into movies

Each Tuesday The Broke and The Bookish provide a book related Top 10 theme.

It is so rare that a movie based on a book lives up to my expectations that I’m hesitant to even do this top 10.   I’ve included my ideas for casting in a few of them.

1. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna – I really saw a young Anna Paquin when reading this (so much so that I wondered if the main character was named after her), but I think she’s a bit too old to play Anna so my next thought would be Hailee Steinfeld.

St. Clair – I see Zac Efron. I know he’s a little too tall and well known, but that’s who I see.

 

 

 

2. The Brass Verdict by Michael Connolly

I loved “The Lincoln Lawyer”.  It was one of the few movies that lived up to the book to me.  Matthew McConaughey was Mickey Haller.   Unfortunately I don’t think  “The Lincoln Lawyer” did well enough in theatres for the sequel to get made.

 

3. All American Girl by Meg Cabot

4. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

 

 

 

 

Lincoln – John Krasinski  (This one was tough because no one fits the exact description of Lincoln, but I think John could do a really good job playing Lincoln)

Beth – Minka Kelly – she’s probably a little too pretty but I find her sooo appealing in everything (WHY did she have to leave Parenthood for Charlie’s Angels?)                                                                 

Jennifer – Tina Majorino 

5. The Passage by Justin Cronin

6. Divergent by Veronica Roth

Tris – Saoirse Ronan would be so great, but has probably been in too many big titles to do this now

Four – Chris Pine is too old, DAMN.  And no one else is quite right for me.

 7.One False Move by Harlan Coben (Myron Molitar Series)

8. The Scarecrow by Michael Connolly

9. No Safe Place by Richard North Patterson

10. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Lola – Lucy Hale

Cricket – No one is as perfect as Cricket.  Plus tall actors are rare (as are short ones – I swear 90% of them are between 5’9 and 6’0″).   Best I could come up with is Alexander Ludwig.  He doesn’t fit the exact look of Cricket but he’s tall and has the right combo of cute but goofy looking IMO.

17 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Top Ten Books I’d like to see made into movies

  1. Anna and the French kiss made my list too. I like that you assigned actors. I agree Hailee Steinfeld would be great in Anna’s role. Thanks for sharing your Top Ten Tuesday. 🙂

    • 2manychoices says:

      That was one of the few that was easy for me to see who should play the part. I have a hard time – especially with the boys. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Elodie says:

    I would love to see ANNA made into a movie, I love, love love that book! 😀

  3. I’ve thought about the casting for Lola before and I agree that I can’t quite come up with the perfect Cricket yet…I know someone in real life who could be him quite well, but he’s no actor haha. And I never thought about Meg Cabot’s All American Girl — that would be pretty interesting as a movie!

    My Top Ten

  4. I’d love to see Anna done but I think casting would have to be perfect! I wanted to include Attachments but I think it would be difficult given so much of the novel is comprised of emails.

  5. Edward says:

    Divergent is on my list, too. I feel that it will be a movie soon! 😀

    My Top Ten Tuesday

  6. Totally agree on Anna, Lola, Divergent and All American Girls. Can’t believe I forgot the last one*facepalmed*. Awesome list! 😀

    Drop by my Top 10?

  7. Elizabeth says:

    I want to see an Attachments movie, too, but I think we need to find a beefy, big-shouldered, tall, cutely-nerdy guy to play Lincoln. I’m not sure he exists in Hollywood… but I like your choices for Beth/Jennifer. I can see that working!!

    • 2manychoices says:

      Yay! You read Attachments! There aren’t any good beefy but not ripped, tall guys in Hollywood. I don’t think he exists either.

      • Elizabeth says:

        Yes, I just finished it and really liked it… I’ve got a review up tomorrow! I also checked out Lola from the library… I’ll let you know once I get that one read, too!

  8. fakesteph says:

    Yes to Lola and the Boy Next Door and yes to Chris Pine in… anything!

  9. Hollie says:

    I love how you’ve assigned actors as well! I agree with Steph too…Chris Pine in anything! 😀

  10. Amanda Pearl says:

    Saoirse Ronan, yes! She could play anything, from any time period. I’m convinced.

  11. Amelia S. says:

    A lot of people seem to agree on Divergent! Reminds me I need to buy The Passage, reading the synopsis that really would make an excellent movie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

